Posted by: Silver | May 28, 2010

Support your local bike shop

Well, I’m back in the saddle (or should that be ‘nice, comfy seat’?!) again now after my moment of intimacy with the local tarmac, so I thought I would take this opportunity to send out some big thanks to a couple of the people who made it possible for me to get pedalling in the first place:

Firstly, the lovely Shon at Edge Cyclesports in Laguna Hills, who very kindly lent me a pair of cycling shoes to use while we waited for the style I’d ordered to come in. (For those of you not into triking, I should probably explain that it’s pretty much essential to wear special shoes that physically bind to your pedals when you’re on a trike, because, if your foot were to slip off, it could end up getting dragged under the seat, resulting in… well, let’s just say I didn’t consider ordinary shoes to be a viable alternative while I waited…) Then, when the shoes I’d ordered arrived, Shon also took considerable time and care to ensure that they, my trike and I all fitted together perfectly.

Secondly, the equally lovely Mike at Jax Bicycle Center in Mission Viejo, who lent me a cycle helmet: once again, my size in the style I wanted wasn’t in stock (honestly, I’m not that strange a shape – just unlucky, I guess!), and once again, cycling without one really wasn’t an option I was prepared to consider (even before my tumble, I was quite sure that a cycle helmet would look less embarrassing than a smashed-in head…)

Without these guys, the start of my road-training would have been considerably delayed, so a huge thank you to both of you – your customer service is an example to us all!

Leave a Reply

Categories

