Posted by: Silver | July 18, 2010

Little Fox Lake to Lake Laberge

Distance: 45 km (since I’m in Canada now, I thought I’d better get round to re-setting the units to metric!)
Cycling time: 3 hours, 10 minutes
Vertical height ascended: 317 m
Average speed: 14 km/h (although, this isn’t really representative, as I forgot to switch the Garmin off when I stopped for tea, so it recorded me pootling around Fox Lake campground for a while at no miles an hour, looking for a likely spot in which to eat my butties…)

My second cycling day saw more beautiful clear blue skies. It was so warm, in fact, that my departure was delayed until late afternoon, just to allow things to cool down a little. And then my journey was delayed by the numerous stops I made to take photos of the sunlit scenery. But the delay I think it might be most useful for me to talk about was that caused by my fairing…

As I think I’ve mentioned before, Ranger has a Windwrap fairing, and the Windwrap fairing has an unquenchable thirst for freedom. This yearning is abetted by the fact that the system employed to keep the fairing attached to its mounting bracket consists simply of a bolt and a rubber bung. Clearly, the action of screwing the bolt into the bung is supposed to cause the latter to expand into the push-fit hole on the mounting bracket and thereby hold fast, but just in case anyone out there is interested to know: IT DOESN’T WORK! Maybe it’s fine on a nice smooth race track, but as soon as you subject your trike to any level of vibration (like, say, on just about any normal road), the bung just jiggles right out of the hole. It’s not exactly major surgery to put it back together again, but it is extremely irritating, especially when it does it twice in the space of less than 50 km.

Other than that, though, Ranger performed flawlessly once more, even when the going got a little unexpected… I had been warned that my destination lay at the end of a gravel road off the Klondike Highway, but I hadn’t quite fully appreciated just how unmade this road was, nor how long, nor how steep. Ranger is so not an off-road machine, but all things considered, I think he handled the terrain remarkably well, and I’m sure my neck will recover from the vibration damage soon… 😉 He gave up on the 10% uphill gravel slope – his poor little rear wheel spinning bravely but uselessly – but since this proved to be a wrong turning anyway, it’s perhaps as well I didn’t try and force him (yes, Silver can still manage to make a wrong turn, even when there’s only supposed to be one road anywhere in the surrounding 3 miles…). And so, nearly five hours after leaving Little Fox Lake, and nearly two hours later than I originally estimated, I finally arrived at my next placement, on the shores of Lake Laberge.

(Incidentally, I have a theory that little lakes get called ‘Something Lake’, whilst bigger lakes get to be ‘Lake Something’: anybody care to confirm or refute?!)

Some of the aforementioned sunlit scenery: this is actually the south end of (Big) Fox Lake

Another sunny roadside shot

My first glimpse of Lake Laberge: the road did not remain so smooth, I assure you...

Responses

  1. Hi Silver,
    Well yes the thing about “Some small” lake and Lake “Something bigger” kept me busy for a while too. However, after learning more and more names of lakes, I have found no sense in putting “lake” before or after. I guess in the end it just depends on how ‘smooth’ it sounds or it might be the influence of French or both. On the other hand, many lakes in the US are named Lake Something. Hmmm ….. ??????
    To support my confusion: Lake Louise is rather small, but sounds French, while Kluane Lake, Marsh Lake and Atlin Lake aren’t the smallest (Atlin is the largest in BC ….), and neither are Great Bear Lake and Great Slave Lake (the 7th and 9th largest lakes in the world) in NWT. Lake Superior, Lake Michigan and the other 3 however are the largest in the world ……….
    If anyone has a clue (clou) ?

    PS: Your article is posted in today’s “What’s Up Yukon” !!

  2. Hey SP- see –what did I say,, second career coming!
    xx
    E


Leave a Reply

Categories

