Posted by: Silver | October 3, 2010

Salt Spring Island to Duncan

Aware as I am that there are at least a few people out there following my blog because of Ranger, I sometimes feel like I ought to be saying more about how he’s doing, but to be completely honest, there’s really not that much to say: he simply does the job, and does it very well. My latest ride was no exception: it was notable for the fact that I finally broke the 40 mph barrier on one of Salt Spring’s many hills (40.1 mph to be exact, or 64.6 km/h!), but other than that, it was just a very pleasant, comfortable ride. And part of the reason why it was so enjoyable was because it didn’t rain – in spite of ominous forecasts to the contrary. After my last experience of riding in the rain, I had taken care to pre-emptively dress as warmly and waterproofly as possible, only to have to peel off the excess layers as the sun came out – not a big deal in itself, but stowing the extra clothing was certainly complicated by the fact that I’d also wrapped my panniers in bin bags to prevent any repeat outbreak of PLS (Pannier Lake Syndrome). But believe me, I am not complaining.

So, in the absence of any wild weather or trike tantrums to tell you about, I will instead mention two of the people with whom I ended up in conversation – both whilst waiting for the ferry back to Vancouver Island, as it happens. The first was a lovely lady from Salt Spring Island Transit, who – after chatting with me for a while about Ranger, my journey and SOS Children’s Villages – reached into her car and presented me with an emergency rain poncho. She said it had been sitting there unused for years, so she wanted me to have it as she suspected I might have more use for it! As I mentioned, I didn’t on this ride, but I’m sure I will… And then, on account of once again attracting the interest of the local wasp population (do they know when someone’s afraid of them and flock round deliberately for the entertainment value?), I got chatting with a very sweet (if slightly stoned) 15-year-old, who – judging by the almost ungrammatical frequency with which the word ‘cool’ appeared in his sentences – was quite taken with what I was doing. He said he thought I looked much younger than I am – clearly a very astute and insightful young man I thought… until he went on to say that he also thought England was somewhere off the north coast of Canada…

Did I mention that the area I'm cycling through at the moment is a little bit British...?!

Responses

  1. Hey Silver!

    Just spent a lovely Sunday afternoon following your travels, which is to say, readin’ this ‘ere blog. I’m finding it very informative (considering getting an ICE Trike) and inspiring (who couldn’t be?).

    It’s great that you seem to be enjoying yourself and I’m looking forward to hearing about more of your adventures.

    Warm Wishes,

    W01

    • Hi there!

      Welcome to my blog! Thanks for the compliments too – glad you’re enjoying it 🙂 I certainly am enjoying myself, so it’s good that I’m managing to convey that suitably! Cool that you’re thinking of getting an ICE trike too, so if there’s anything specific you’d like to know about Ranger, please feel free to ask. Incidentally, purely out of personal interest: whereabouts in the world are you? It’s nice to think of all the different places my travels are reaching!

      • Well, thanks for the warm welcome 🙂 And for the offer of trike-type info. I found the early stuff quite useful – screw everything tight, how to ship and such. My questions are mostly being addressed by the fact that Ranger is clearly a viable means of transport…if that makes sense.

        One thing I’ve been wondering – this isn’t trike related – did you set all of your WWOOF placements up beforehand? You give yourself a week at a location and a few days or so to travel to the next, kinda thing?

        As for me…born in the north of England, lived in London for the last while.

        W01

      • Oh, he’s quite definitely a viable means of transport, especially for touring: I’m not sure I would recommend a trike for around-town-hopping-on-and-off-running-errands-type cycling due to the need for clipless pedals, and I’m not sure how safe I’d feel in London traffic (but then again, how safe does anyone feel in London traffic?!), but he certainly does the job in great comfort and style. Be prepared to lose your anonymity and have complete strangers strike up conversation with you on a regular basis though – Ranger invariably turns heads!

        As for my WWOOF placements: I set up the first couple of months before I left my Dad’s, and continue to set them up on a rolling programme as I progress – I try to always be booked in with people for at least the following 4-5 months, as some hosts do get booked up quite a way in advance, and sometimes there’s only one host within cycling distance so if I can’t get in there, I’m kinda sunk! Generally, I try to travel from one host to the next over a single day: it’s nice to know that someone’s expecting me, and would notice if something happened and I didn’t turn up!

  2. Ah brills! ‘England’s just off the coast of Canada’. Well it’s kind of true, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

Categories

