Posted by: Silver | October 20, 2010

Burn Out

Well, exactly four months to the day after I started this journey, the inevitable happened: I burned out. Not in any disastrously spectacular fashion, I hasten to add, but my body quite unequivocally called a halt, and fortunately – perhaps because I was already resigned to the fact that it was bound to happen sooner or later – I listened. My grand plans to spend my sunny day off cycling around Galiano Island were swiftly abandoned in favour of falling asleep for several hours, but as luck would have it, I was in a nice little local park by the ocean at the time, so I stretched out on a comfortable grassy slope and dozed to the sound of the waves lapping on the sandstone below…

Of course, as most of you know (since the vast majority of my readership is still people who know me personally), it’s not so very many years since simply walking to the bathroom and back constituted a major challenge and achievement for me, so the fact that I managed to cycle over 1400 km before my body really kicked up a fuss is actually little short of a miracle – something I did try to remind myself of as my spirits dropped in line with my energy levels. Fortunately, my hosts were extremely kind and understanding when I finally limped home from the park, and after a hot bath and a long night’s sleep, I was already feeling somewhat revivified. Now, a few days later, both body and spirit remain a little below par still, but with just a few more restful afternoons and early nights, I’m sure I’ll be back and bouncing once again – Silver will not be defeated so easily! 🙂

A few beautiful pictures from Galiano Island, to give you an idea of what it was like, but also to try and remind myself of one of the reasons I'm doing this... This is Salt Spring Island (where I was a couple of weeks ago), as seen from Galiano Island

A fantastic and unique triple sunflower from my host's garden; all the other flowers on the plant were normal

Another view of the Gulf Islands from The Bluffs

A panoramic shot of the Strait of Georgia, from the top of Mt Galiano (the highest point on the island, I believe)

Yes, I got out on the water again too: this time it was sea kayaking!

Petra for hobbits: the fascinating (naturally) sculpted sandstone in Bellhouse Park (where I slept)

Responses

  1. Glad to hear you are getting some rest Tana. Sounds like it has been an amazing trip so far. Take care.

  2. You just make sure and give yourself plenty of time to relax – anyone would’ve been somewhat knackered by now. And start again gradually.

    What stunning photos, yet again!

    Love, John.

  3. Without challenges life would get boring and less interesting.

    Check out the tracks I gave you – especially the 4th Agreement.

    Keep up the good work, and don’t forget to smile 🙂

    • How very true! And don’t worry, Col: I am still smiling 🙂

  4. Hi Silver

    A well deserved rest for sure! I’m glad to hear you are listening to your body and taking good care of yourself.

    What fabulous pictures! I am envious of your travels, and so very happy for you. I have never been to the islands but your trip inspires me to go.

    Rest up Silver and enjoy your downtime.

    Cheers!

    Becky


Leave a Reply

Categories

