Posted by: Silver | October 28, 2010

Fort Langley to Chilliwack

Never let it be said I don’t learn from my mistakes experiences. This time, I double-checked the cycling restrictions and re-routed accordingly, before I set out. Cyclists are prohibited from the Trans-Canada Highway (Highway 1) all the way from Vancouver to Hope, and while this necessitates a considerably less straightforward journey (my google directions listed 29 turns, as opposed to the 6 it would have taken to get to the same destination via Highway 1), the upside is that – of course – all the internal combustion engines take the 6-turn option, leaving the back roads beautifully quiet for us pedal-powered travellers – hoorah!

It’s a curious mix round here: sometimes the scenery appears as rural as anything I’ve seen outside the Yukon, but the level of traffic instantly betrays the fact that you’re still in the Lower Mainland, far and away the most densely populated region of British Columbia. The most inconvenient part of this dichotomy, however, was that – for much of my route – although the general ambience was rural (ie no gas stations or other services), the land was actually fairly densely divided up into individual ‘country residences’, with little in the way of ‘proper’ countryside. Which all led to a fairly acute manifestation of what I’m sure is the obsession of all female long-distance cyclists: where to pee. This is a fascinating topic worthy of an entry all to itself at some point I think, but for the moment, suffice it to say that I doubt the local church outside Abbotsford realised just what a service they were providing to their fellow beings when they planted a few attractive shrubs in a secluded corner of their property…

The day may have been grey, but at least the blueberry bushes were bright

The effect a freeway has on the side roads: this amount of traffic was blissfully typical 🙂

South of Highway 1, it was definitely agriculture country, with some of the biggest fields I've seen so far; the main reason I took this picture though, was simply to remind myself that there was at least a bit of blue sky during the ride

Responses

  1. Hey Silver,
    Heading east and the time of year I am wondering what you are going to do in winter? I can’t imagine riding on the highway in the next 6 or so months. For October and early November we have had unusually nice weather but it will be over soon and the winter months are tough for bike riders.
    Cheers, Chris

    • Hi again Chris,
      Oh dear – looks like you must have missed the response I posted the last time you asked this! Winter plans are still a work in progress but yes, I will probably be taking a bit of a break of some sort until the roads are again passable by something with a derailleur only an inch off the ground!

  2. Yep, didn’t receive it. lol.

    Anyways. How is the bike holding up? Hopefully the roads haven’t been to hard on it. I am looking at a bike similar to yours and I have talked with a dealer here to see if they plan to carry ICE trikes. He is very interested and plans to look further into them this winter. They are in the midst of relocating and the new shop will have the room for recumbents. I have directed them to the ICE website and they are impressed so far.
    Some people complain about the fenders shaking loose on the ICE trikes but I am not sure if that is the FS model which would have some cushion to the bumps of the road.

    • Hi Chris!

      Ranger’s holding up fantastically well so far (though don’t say that too loud – wouldn’t want to tempt fate!): no problems with the fenders shaking loose, in fact, no problems to speak of at all. As we head into winter, there may be times when I need to transport him without riding him, and *that* tends to be a bit of a pain, but on the road, he’s nothing but great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

