Posted by: Silver | December 22, 2010

Happy New Year!

No, I’m not just being super-organised and getting in before the rush: for me, the New Year begins when the sun first rises again after the winter solstice, and here in southern California, that was about half an hour ago! I’ve always thought this was a far more logical and meaningful moment to designate as the start of a new year, rather than the apparently arbitrary and human-imposed date that the western world usually uses, but if anyone out there knows of a good, earth-rooted reason why the new year should start on January 1st, I’m certainly not closed to debate…

Of course, this year, I had to rely on the clock to know when the sun had actually risen, as the whole of California is still in the grip of the worst storm it’s seen in years (yes, the rain started up again almost as soon as I’d published my last post…); I unsurprisingly had a few rainy New Year sunrises back in the UK, but I really wasn’t expecting to not be able to see the sun this year!

So anyway, a Happy New Year to you all! Thank you for your interest in, and support of, my journey last year, and here’s to even more people learning about SOS Children’s Villages in this coming year!

Leave a Reply

Categories

