Posted by: Silver | April 26, 2011

Crawford Bay to Creston

Distance: 77 km
Ascent: 854 m
Cycling time: 5 hours, 22 minutes

There are two ways to get to Creston from the west: down the east shore of Kootenay Lake, or over the Salmo-Creston pass. I didn’t actually know about the mountain in the middle of the latter when I chose the former, but as they were still closing the pass for avalanche control while I was in Creston, I felt I’d made a very lucky choice. The road down the lake is not without its ‘interesting’ aspects – it is quite narrow and winding in places, with a few good 10% hills along the way – but the views of the lake in the sunshine certainly beat the 8ft snow banks still apparently lining both sides of the Salmo-Creston. My cycling time may have been less than 5½ hours, but it took nearly 8 hours in total to make it to Creston, due to the amount of time I spent taking photos and just sitting by the lake enjoying the sunshine. I considered this acceptably adequate compensation for the snowstorms on the Paulson… 🙂

Anyway, to counterbalance my last entry: being entirely dependent on the kindness of strangers in each town I come to does have its benefits as well. The people I connect with often know other ‘important’ people in the town, and I have thus been able to sneak into a good few interesting places that weren’t officially open for the season yet. Sometimes, however, even this doesn’t help: you could be on intimate terms with every single member of staff at the local wetland centre, but if there’s simply not enough wet in the lands at the time you’re there, you’re still not going to be able to paddle a canoe around them. And my momentary hopes that my ‘local connections’ might make it possible for me to see inside the Glass House (a wonderfully fanciful home built entirely of empty embalming fluid bottles) were dashed by insurance restrictions that precluded anyone (even the owners, apparently!) from setting foot on the property until the May long weekend 😦

On the bright side, though, I did get to go kayaking on the Kootenay river, and I did get a very interesting ‘guided tour’ of the Yaqan Nuki heritage centre from the young lady (a band member) looking after the gift shop. I also had the (so far) unique experience of riding alongside another trike for a block or so, as my host here just happened to own a Kettwiesel delta trike! It was great fun, but in the end, we both had to agree: Ranger was way cooler than the Kettwiesel… 😉

One of my first glimpses of the lake after I left Crawford Bay, with the apparently floating mountains in the background

Are you getting tired of beautiful lakes and mountains in the background? I'm not 😉

Looking east to the Skimmerhorn mountains from the Kootenay River

Responses

  1. I look forward to your posts, your writing is great, and the adventures you are having are so interesting. Thank you for sharing and i hope that everyone you come in contact with will take a more serious look at the SOS Children’s Villages organization.
    Cheers, good luck, safe travels and keep up the great work.
    Sherry

    • Thank you, Sherry 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

