Posted by: Silver | August 4, 2011

Back in Business

My computer is fixed! I am so happy! 🙂 It’s really rather scary just how dependent I am on it to keep all the admin for this journey organized, but for an undertaking of this complexity, I really don’t think there’s any other option…

Anyway, before I get back to bringing you up to date on my travels, let me first clarify something: one reader commented to me that it sounded a bit like I was trying to ‘blackmail’ people into making a donation, so just in case anybody, anywhere is even half thinking that, let me emphasize that this was not my intention in any way, shape or form. The situation is simply this: those close to me have been voicing concerns for a while now about how tired I appear to be getting – many of you have already confessed that you couldn’t manage even a fraction of the amount of cycling I’m doing, so if you try to imagine adding in a full-time admin job, considerable amounts of public speaking and media relations, and the wonderful but inescapably exhausting routine of meeting a completely new set of people every 48 hours on top of the cycling, you may get at least a tiny inkling of just how intense this journey is. Thus, I have always to be looking at what will constitute the most productive and effective use of my unbelievably limited time and energy, and providing free entertainment to a small group of people, who didn’t even seem to particularly value what I was doing, simply wasn’t looking like a good reason to exhaust myself.

Fortunately for you all, however, a reasonable number of you have shown your appreciation for the time and effort I put into the blog by making a donation (including one dedicated fan who was so keen to see the entries continue, she donated twice – thank you, Sheila!!), and so the blog will live to fight another day. 🙂 Of course, that doesn’t mean it wouldn’t still be nice to see a little donation from the rest of you as well – if you are enjoying the entertainment I’m providing you with…? 😉

Responses

  1. Well I definitely appreciate reading about your journey! I think you should turn it into a book when you’re done, then donate the proceeds to SOS. 🙂

    It’s worrying to hear you’re getting exhausted; maybe you could try to schedule in some downtime? Or are you planning on ploughing through until the weather starts to turn again? Either way, take very great care of yourself dear. *Hugs*

  2. I second that last comment – look after yourself!
    I’ve just bought a bike and think I’m very brave to be cycling from Cambridge to Swavesey on Sunday – all of 9 miles! Not exactly hilly round here either…
    I’m just amazed at what you’ve achieved so far, and yes, you must turn it into a book – no shortage of wonderful photos to include.
    Love, John.


Leave a Reply

Categories

