Posted by: Silver | September 11, 2011

Selkirk to Kenora

Selkirk to Whitemouth:
Distance: 82 km
Ascent: 218 m
Cycling time: 4 hours, 17 minutes

Whitemouth to Kenora:
Distance: 112 km
Ascent: 589 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 44 minutes

What a beautiful way to leave the prairies! Two glorious rides through glorious scenery in glorious weather. 🙂 My last stop in Manitoba was just an overnighter in the tiny community of Whitemouth, but once again, the generosity of a community seemed to be in inverse proportion to its size, and by the time I reluctantly pedalled away from my lovely host early the next morning, SOS Children’s Villages was almost $600 richer!

Just a few brief kilometres into my ride to Kenora, I began to see the telltale rock outcrops that confirmed I was on the prairies no more! My host had warned me that highway 44 was narrow and completely shoulder-less (and he worked for the highways department, so he ought to know!), but it was also very quiet (most people just go along highway 1, you know…) and, oh, so beautiful! As I wound my way through the trees and lakes of Whiteshell Provincial Park towards the Ontario border, I genuinely didn’t mind that the road started to go rather more up and down than I’ve seen for, urm, quite a while. 🙂

Perhaps ironically, for my first stop in Ontario I was actually taken care of by Manitobans. Having failed to find anyone in Kenora itself willing to take me in, I was unfortunately forced to put up with simply having exclusive use of a luxurious cottage on the shores of Lake of the Woods for two days – loaned to me by an unbelievably kind and generous couple I met in Portage la Prairie! And with the addition of a generous food parcel provided by my host in Whitemouth, I was all set for two blissfully quiet days with no distractions to keep me from trying to catch up with all my admin backlog, and trying to find some Ontarians who would be prepared to take me in further along my route. Well, no distractions, that is, apart from watching the beavers and the turtles, listening to the loons, and swimming in the lake in the hot afternoon sun… 😉

By the way, don’t forget: the Canadian government’s matching funding offer runs out on September 16th! If you haven’t made a donation yet, DO IT NOW – HERE, and double your money while there’s still time!!

My first glimpse of the Canadian shield: some of the oldest rocks on Earth. Almost every outcrop I passed had been adorned with little rock piles/faux-inukshuks like these

Never let it be said that Canadians don't have a sense of humour: this was Rennie, Manitoba, on the edge of Whiteshell Provincial Park

There was no mistaking it: I was definitely in lake country now... This was just one of many lakes I passed on my way to Kenora

Yes, he was swimming straight towards me; no, he didn't seem at all bothered!

Poor me: no-one would host in me in Kenora, so I had to spend my time here instead...

Responses

  1. Welcome to the land of Stone, Bush & Water!


Leave a Reply

Categories

