Posted by: Silver | September 15, 2011

Kenora to Dryden

Kenora to Vermilion Bay:
Distance: 113 km
Ascent: 898 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 32 minutes

Vermilion Bay to Dryden:
Cycling distance: 16 km
Ascent: 109 m
Cycling time: 56 minutes

Fortunately, the end of my unexpected but wonderful little retreat on Lake of the Woods didn’t mean the end of my beautiful water views. The route to Vermilion Bay was studded with crystal clear lakes (full of potable water, in fact, I was informed by a passing police officer), and eventually, the urge to wantonly throw myself into one overcame my practical concerns about such minor points as not actually having a towel with me… On yet another gloriously sunny late summer day, the water was wonderfully refreshing, and within minutes of hitting the road again afterwards, I was completely dry, towel or no. Ah, the wonders of lycra: trike in it, swim in it, dry in it…!

Both of my next two stops were on the water as well: in Vermilion Bay, my home for the night was right on the banks of the Eagle River, and in Dryden, my hosts overlooked Thunder Lake. In fact, my host in Vermilion Bay was responsible for several of the dams on the Eagle River, so I was privileged to get a peak at the workings of one of them. So much of Canada’s power comes from water that your electricity bill isn’t your electricity bill over here, it’s your ‘hydro’, and it was impressive to see that the equipment at this dam, installed in the 1920s, was still going strong. Apparently, the dam wasn’t actually built to generate power though: they blocked the river to corral the logs they were felling on the lake upstream – the original building on the site was a saw mill not a powerhouse. Funny how good ideas sometimes take a time to evolve, eh?!

The ensuing trip along the river in my host’s motorboat was so beautiful that I refuse to see it as a bad thing that it didn’t really leave me enough time to cycle all the way into Dryden: with a kick-start from my kind hosts and their truck, I still made it ‘home’ in time for supper, so all was well. 🙂

In other news, my fundraising total for SOS Children’s Villages has just broken through the $12,000 mark! (Bear in mind that cheque and cash donations almost always seem to total about twice the online total) The government’s matching funding offer is nearly at an end, though, so if you still haven’t quite got round to making double the difference with your generosity, click HERE and do it now!!

There weren't too many places to stop for lunch along the Trans-Canada out of Kenora, so in the end I decided to just take my chances that the snowploughs would be able to go round me if necessary...

Ee, they built 'em to last in them days: this is the original powerhouse at the dam, and both my host and I wondered at how they'd managed to get it down there without the benefit of modern cranes

Sunset from my hosts' deck overlooking the Eagle River

No, it wasn't claiming to be the world's largest, just a gimmick to attract people into a wool & sheepskin store, but I thought I'd post it anyway, especially for my friend Corinne 🙂 Interestingly, I've seen very few real sheep on my journey so far...

I didn't actually see any beavers this time, but I can't help suspecting that they were around...

A brooding but beautiful morning on Thunder Lake, just outside Dryden

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for my sheep! Hope that the stay with jack and Sue worked out OK for you.
    Love Corinne


Leave a Reply

Categories

