Posted by: Silver | October 4, 2011

Sault Ste Marie to Espanola

Sault Ste Marie to Iron Bridge:
Distance: 125 km
Ascent: 704 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 28 minutes

Iron Bridge to Blind River:
Distance: 33 km
Ascent: 90 m
Cycling time: 1 hour, 32 minutes

Blind River to Espanola:
Distance: 102 km
Ascent: 529 m
Cycling time: 5 hours, 43 minutes

Birds of prey are almost literally an everyday sight over here, especially when I’m out on the road, but most usually it has been a red-tailed hawk or similar, so on the way to Iron Bridge, I was very excited to see what I’m almost certain was my very first peregrine falcon! Of course, I could have been mistaken – the side of a busy highway isn’t the ideal place to stop and scrutinize the distinguishing features of passing birdlife – but the colouring certainly looked right, and since I didn’t have time to take a photo before he flew off, there is no evidence to prove me wrong… 😉

In Iron Bridge, after more than fifteen months on the road, I finally got to stay with my first First Nations host! In a quite overwhelming display of hospitality, he welcomed me warmly into his home, encouraged me to stay for as long as I liked, but then explained that he himself would have to leave for Toronto the following lunchtime, in order to join his two-year-old daughter, who had just been diagnosed with leukemia… How many of us would use far less important things as an excuse not to provide shelter to a stranger?

A short and sunny ride a couple of days later brought me to Blind River, and a rare treat indeed: an evening of musical entertainment! A touring duo (piano and clarinet) just happened to be performing while I was there, and as my host already had a ticket, she very kindly offered to buy me one too! It was a beautiful and also entertaining recital, as the two performers (Chris Donnelly and Kornel Wolak) clearly had a very good sense of humour; Kornel was also clearly very moved by what SOS Children’s Villages is doing for children around the world, and after a post-concert conversation about their work that was long enough to cause me to start worrying that I was keeping him from his fans, he exchanged my ‘business’ card for a copy of his latest (and very lovely) CD – thank you, Kornel!

Any idea what this means?! Answer in the next entry (if I remember...!)

If only all the donations to SOS Children's Villages were this large...! Yep, you guessed it - it's the 'world's largest loonie', in Echo Bay, on the way to Iron Bridge

Yes, more fall foliage: are you complaining?!

Responses

  1. In answer to the question about the 1 long 2 short. My suggestion is that it goes back to the days of party-line telephones. That was the ring signal.

    • Great info I am thinking summer 2015 taking that cycling trip & Pack lite, Starting from my home in Owen Sound.


Leave a Reply

Categories

