Posted by: Silver | December 10, 2011

Hamilton to Guelph

Hamilton to Oakville:
Distance: 39 km
Ascent: 245 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 25 minutes

Oakville to Georgetown:
Distance: 42 km
Ascent: 333 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 48 minutes

Georgetown to Guelph:
Distance: 44 km
Ascent: 395 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 56 minutes

People often ask me if I’ve lost any weight as a result of all the cycling I’m doing these days: the answer to this is a resounding “no”. If anything, I’ve actually put on a pound or two (all muscle weight, of course – or so I choose to believe… ;-)). One thing that all this exercise does seem to have done, though, is to boost my immune system to fairly impressive levels. Over the past few days, it has been quite clear that I’ve been fighting an infection of some sort, but more importantly, it has been equally clear that I’ve been winning. The tell-tale tingling in the nose and throat that would previously have inescapably heralded at least a week of snuffling, coughing and generally feeling lousy, actually produced nothing more than one day of feeling a bit feverish and particularly in need of some extra rest (which, fortunately, I was able to get, thanks to my understanding hosts in Oakville).

The next day, though, a rather alarming rash appeared across my neck and chest. As some of you know, my best friend died of meningitis just a couple of years ago, so you’ll forgive me for being slightly paranoid about such things ever since. However, it’s perhaps also a sign of how instantly I make myself at home amongst strangers these days that, after taking a post-ride bath, I handed a tumbler to the host I’d met only hours earlier and asked him to stare at my cleavage, in the hopes of finding that the rash disappeared under the pressure of the glass. Thankfully, it did. (And if any of you don’t know about the symptoms of meningitis and the tumbler test already, look here: it could save your life or that of someone you love…)

In other news, I have comfortably survived my first wholly sub-zero ride, got SOS Children’s Villages onto the television news again, and hugged both a tree and several very good-looking young men. Sadly however, all the but the tree were married…

The ride from Hamilton to Oakville was the first one I've done that never left urban areas: not my favourite kind of riding...

I got to see the Georgetown Christmas lights with the snow falling: oooh, it felt so Christmassy 🙂

The ride to Guelph might have been sub-zero, but it was ever so pretty

This wasn't the tree I hugged, but it was a rather lovely one: in the grounds of the University of Guelph

Responses

  1. Good link to the meningitis page. One warning I would add is that quite often the rash, the most definite symptom, doesn’t appear til very late in the progress of the illness, as I know to my cost – Silver’s best friend also being my wife.
    With hindsight, I would say SEVERE STIFFNESS AND ACHING IN THE BACK OF THE NECK was the most clear earlier symptom. If anyone gets that along with other flu-like symptoms, CALL EMERGENCY HELP.
    It’s nearly 3 years now. Seems like yesterday. Sharon was going to visit Canada that year. She’ll be there in spirit right now with you, Silver.
    Love, John.


Leave a Reply

Categories

