Posted by: Silver | January 11, 2012

Happy New Year!

OK, so it’s been a while, but hopefully you’ve all been enjoying having a relaxing and restful break over the Festive Season as much as I have. I’ll shortly be coming to the end of my little sojourn in southern California though, so I thought it might be a good time to have a look back at the journey so far, and also at what lies ahead.

And so, for all you number fans, here are a few statistics for the journey since its inception in June 2010:

Number of communities visited: 160

Number of nights when I was unable to find a host: 2

Distance cycled: 11,500 km

Number of vertical metres of ascent: 78,000 m

Number of vertical metres of descent: 77,500 m *

Calories burned: 370,000

Number of media articles about SOS Children’s Villages generated: 250

Amount of money raised: $22,500

There’s still many more miles to go though: I’ve only got about half way across Ontario so far, and there’s still the whole of Quebec and the Maritimes left to cover! When the journey finally comes to an end, I should have visited at least 300 communities in total, and raised – well, who knows?!

One thing I do finally now know, however, is where and when it will all end: on November 18th this year, I will cycle into Ottawa – for a very well-earned rest! I know that many of you who are reading this are many thousands of miles away, but if any of you are anywhere near Ottawa, or have friends or relatives there whom you haven’t visited in a while, or if you’ve just always fancied a little city break in Canada’s capital sometime, it really would be fantastically lovely to see some of you at the finish line!

And so, leaving that little thought with you, I shall get back to the endless administration necessary to ensure that the time between now and November is as profitable as possible for SOS!

(PS Apologies to all my subscribers who just got a post consisting of nothing but the SOS Children’s Villages website link: WordPress has just changed their system and things ain’t quite what (or where!) they used to be! Or, to put it another way: I clicked the wrong button. Sorry!)

* Yes, after all that work, I’m virtually back where I started…!

Responses

  1. Silver….
    I think of you often and am so happy that you are enjoying Southern California during our cold winter season!
    You are truly an inspiration and I am so awestruck by what you have accomplished! It was an honor to meet you and follow your journey and I look forward to the rest!
    Take care,
    Corina Carroll-Layfield
    SOS Children’s Village BC

  2. We here at SOS UK agree with Corina!

    Just a quick note to say how impressed I am with those stats – 250 media pieces!!! And the money raised as well of course. You are remarkable and I shall very much enjoy continuing following your journey from my desk here at SOS in Cambridge. best of luck for the new year!

  3. Thanks for the update Silver. It is fun, and amazing to read the statistics you have generated. Congratulations!

    We wish you equal and better success on the last leg of your amazing adventure.

    All the best in 2012!

    Becky


Leave a Reply

Categories

