Posted by: Silver | April 6, 2012

Port Perry to Oshawa

Port Perry to Scarborough:
Distance: 59 km
Ascent: 394 m
Cycling time: 3 hours, 38 minutes

Scarborough to Pickering to Scarborough to Oshawa:
Distance: 92 km
Ascent: 744 m
Cycling time: 5 hours, 50 minutes

Ah, it was nearly so perfect! Two kind people offered to host me in the eastern GTA (Greater Toronto Area), and two Rotary Clubs invited me to come and speak to them about SOS Children’s Villages. One host lived just down the road from one club’s venue, and the other host lived just down the road from the other club’s venue. I could be happily accommodated handily close to each of my speaking engagements…

Except that both clubs met on the same day!

On the bright side, they didn’t meet at the same time on the same day, so I was still able to give both presentations, but rather than a couple of gentle jaunts to and from my appointments, I instead ended up shuttling along the route between Scarborough and Pickering (approximately 16 km) no less than four times in total!

But on the bright side… A large proportion of that route was along the previously-mentioned Waterfront trail: a wonderful, paved pathway that grants cyclists and pedestrians (and the occasional rollerblader) the sort of stunning views of the Lake Ontario shoreline that motorists along the 401 can only dream of. 😉

And on the even brighter side, most of my to-ing and fro-ing along this beautiful route took place in glorious sunshine! 🙂 It was all a bit hectic (hence the blog being behind again… Sorry!!), especially when a third Rotary Club offered me a yet another speaking opportunity during the same 24 hour period, but it all did lots of good for SOS Children’s Villages, and for my muscles too, I’m sure – although I am rather glad that the reporter from the local TV station decided in the end not to use my off-the-cuff and definitely-ought-to-be-off-the-record remark about ‘thighs of steel’…

And talking of doing lots of good for SOS Children’s Villages: the total amount of donations that I know about now stands at over $29,000 – can anyone out there help me make it to $30,000?! Just click here if you can!!

A couple of views from the Waterfront trail, taken during my trips through the heart of the GTA...

It wasn't always sunny, but even in the rain, the Scarborough bluffs looked rather atmospherically attractive. And besides, I wasn't cycling that day anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

