Posted by: Silver | April 23, 2012

Kingston to Kemptville

Kingston to Perth:
Distance: 102 km
Ascent: 824 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 23 minutes

Perth to Brockville:
Distance: 67 km
Ascent: 387 m
Cycling time: 4 hours, 5 minutes

Brockville to Kemptville:
Distance: 76 km
Ascent: 336 m
Cycling time: 4 hours, 51 minutes

I’ve just noticed that it’s been a while since I last talked about any of my cycle rides. In some ways, this is definitely a good thing, as it’s a reassuring indication that there have been no newsworthy on-the-road mishaps to report. It’s also possibly a reflection of the fact that I do seem to have had to spend quite a lot of time just recently explaining to people (often journalists) that what I’m doing really isn’t about the cycling at all anyway!

And just in case any of you are new to the blog, or have forgotten: no, it really isn’t! I’m not on this journey because I’m passionate about cycling, I’m on this journey because I’m passionate about SOS Children’s Villages: as I put it to one newspaper reporter recently, I’m not a long-distance cyclist, I’m just a charity volunteer who cycles a lot!

That being said, though, I’m not going to pretend that I haven’t nevertheless really enjoyed many of my rides. The further I’ve pedalled away from the GTA, the quieter the roads have got, and in combination with some beautifully sunny weather, I’ve had some truly glorious journeys. The route from Kingston to Perth was a particular favourite, as it brought me back into the sort of Canadian shield scenery that I hadn’t seen since last fall. A lot of Canadians I’ve spoken to have been quite dismissive of the northern landscape – ‘nothing but rocks and trees’ – but for me, that’s exactly the beauty of it. Not forgetting the lakes, of course. The rocks are some of the oldest on the entire planet, and their myriad hues and patterns undoubtedly benefit from being viewed at a cyclist’s pace; the deciduous trees, though still in their winter guise, were positively throbbing with the promise of a spring about to burst forth; and the lakes were a velvety blue so deep that my camera couldn’t possibly do them justice. Those of you paying attention to the ‘ascent’ statistics will have noticed that such scenery brings its own particularities for a cyclist as well, but I can honestly say that I simply enjoyed the opportunity that the uphills gave me to admire the scenery for a little longer. Oh, and the opportunity that they gave me to go downhill again afterwards… 😉

Nothing but rocks and trees and lakes 🙂

Just an everyday Canadian scene: one of the season's first paddlers heading for the Tay canal in Perth (at least, I assume that's where he was going!)

Sadly, the Tay canal was a commercial failure as it seems no-one noticed that the area was more of a slow-moving swamp than a free-flowing shipping channel. Not quite sure how they missed that...

Responses

  1. Hi Tana,
    Our Interact Club was so impressed by your passion for SOS Children’s Villages from your presentation at Rotary, that we would like to host a concert on May 17th and donate 100% proceeds to this charity! Would you possibly be available to speak as well? Please let me know & thanks! Ilze Hillier


Leave a Reply

Categories

