Posted by: Silver | May 4, 2012

Kemptville to Mont Tremblant

Kemptville to Cornwall:
Distance: 112 km
Ascent: 508 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 40 minutes

Cornwall to Summerstown:
Distance: 28 km
Ascent: 154 m
Cycling time: 1 hour, 40 minutes

Summerstown to Vankleek Hill:
Distance: 65 km
Ascent: 347 m
Cycling time: 4 hours, 15 minutes

Vankleek Hill to Hawkesbury:
Distance: 30 km
Ascent: 138 m
Cycling time: 1 hour, 45 minutes

Hawkesbury to Mont Tremblant:
Distance: 78 km
Ascent: 915 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 10 minutes

Yes, it all got a bit hectic again! After wiggling my way around Ontario for more than seven whole months, suddenly I was pretty much sprinting through the last few hundred kilometres! Since I’ve got so behind with my posts, again, I think I will let the photos tell the story of my last few stops, but just a few facts and figures to keep you up to date with first:

It would appear that my previous entry (Kingston to Kemptville) was my 200th blog post! To all of you who’ve ploughed through with me all the way from the beginning – congratulations!

And talking of ploughing through, I’ve now cycled over 14,000 km since leaving Whitehorse in June 2010.

The donations that I know about are currently running at just over $31,000…

And for those of you who are interested, the new header picture was taken on the way to Cornwall!

Don’t be fooled by the springlike new header photo though – this is still Canada after all! Only a few days before the end of April, this is what I woke up to. Fortunately, the storm had been well forecasted, so I was able to tweak my itinerary to avoid the ‘joy’ of actually having to cycle through it

Much of my ride to Summerstown was again along the Waterfront trail: beautiful views of the St Lawrence river and no traffic to worry about it! I shall miss that trail now that my route is taking me to other parts…

The landscape between Summerstown and Vankleek Hill was surprisingly flat, but the headwind kindly ensured that I still got a decent workout…

If it’s an Englishman’s home that’s his castle, perhaps this modest little residence outside Hawkesbury belongs to a fellow ex-pat?

Finally! A new province! I was in Ontario a loooong time… Even without the welcome sign though, you can always tell that you’ve entered a new province, as the style of traffic lights suddenly randomly changes…!

There are other ways of spotting the provincial border too…

I think I can say with some confidence that my ride to Mont Tremblant contained the largest number of grades over 10% that I’ve ever encountered in a single day. Sadly, most of them were not downhills like this one…

Well, I’ve heard of shoe trees, but…
Anyone with any suggestions as to what on earth this was all about – please feel free to leave a comment!

Responses

  1. Hi Silver, So nice to have an update and to know you are doing and going well………:) As for the shoes I was told they represent a meeting place to buy illegal drugs !! That is truly what I have heard ..Maybe someone else has a different meaning ? You take Care my friend….:)
    Cheers,
    Graham
    Hope BC

  2. Those are very impressive stats Silver. Congratulations!

    And how exciting… on to a new province. Enjoy Quebec.

    Wishing you continued success on your journey.

    Becky
    WWOOF Canada

  3. Oh, and thank you for your blog. I am very much enjoying reading about your travels and learning about Canada through your words and pictures. I feel a little like I am on this journey with you. Or at least the next best thing to not actually being there with you :~)

    Cheers!

    Becky

  4. Congratulations on making it through Ontario! Yes, it is a looong time, but then again, it’s a large province. You show endless perseverance; to continue pedalling day after day. God Bless,


Leave a Reply

Categories

