Posted by: Silver | July 5, 2012

Bonaventure to Bathurst

Bonaventure to Campbellton:
Distance: 74 + 91 km
Ascent: 491 + 530 m
Cycling time: 4 hours, 15 minutes + 5 hours, 35 minutes

Campbellton to Bathurst:
Distance: 113 km
Ascent: 478 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 15 minutes

After a little hiccup that necessitated a bit of doubling back and trying again (hence the split statistics for the journey from Bonaventure to Campbellton), I finally arrived in another province and another time zone. Even though I’m west of where I was for most of my ride around the Gaspé peninsula, I’m now an hour ahead of them!

Whether it’s because of the lost hour, or because of the unexpected difficulties I’m currently having finding hosts in the Maritimes (anyone know anyone anywhere in Nova Scotia or Newfoundland?!), I’m certainly feeling very busy at the moment, but fortunately, not too busy to appreciate a couple more very lovely hosts, who put me to shame in some wonderful ways…

A lot of people have very kindly complimented me on the quality of the photos I’ve been posting on my blog, but compared to the images that my host in Bonaventure produces, I’m a rank amateur! They were truly beautiful, and I only hope I might produce a few that look as good one day. If you happen to be passing Bonaventure, he sells them in the artisans’ boutique next to the Acadian museum: do check them out! I would also like to make a point of mentioning just what a knight in shining armour this host was when I hit the aforementioned little ‘hiccup’, going above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that I was safe and made it to Campbellton without having to excessively retrace my steps – thank you, JC!

And in Campbellton, what I like to think of as my generally positive, happy outlook on life was eclipsed by possibly the most fantastically upbeat, positively-minded person I’ve ever met! He not only reminded me of how to ‘always look on the bright side of life’ (thank you, Monty Python), but also made sure that my first ever round of golf was possibly the silliest and most fun round I’ll ever have (actually, it’s possibly the only round of golf I’ll ever play, but that’s beside the point… ;-))

Keep smiling everyone! 🙂

Angler enjoying the bay in New Richmond. I enjoyed it too, as I made my way from Bonaventure to Campbellton – from the shore, though…

(only one photo today, I’m afraid, due to an agonizingly slow internet connection: I’ll try and upload some more if I get the chance…)

Leave a Reply

Categories

