Posted by: Silver | July 9, 2012

Bathurst to Miramichi

Bathurst to Pokeshaw:
Distance: 46 km
Ascent: 226 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 40 minutes

Pokeshaw to Miramichi:
Distance: 128 km
Ascent: 610 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 20 minutes

After being wined and dined by the local MLA (the provincial version of an MP), and cared for beautifully by the owner of the Lakeview Inn and Suites in Bathurst (both of whom had links to the local Rotary Club), I made the short and sunny ride out to the tiny, unincorporated village of Pokeshaw and the family homestead of the aforementioned MLA. I had originally hoped to get a little further round the Acadian peninsula, to reduce the distance down to Miramichi, but my inability to find a host anywhere out there brought me the unexpected pleasure of staying an extra night or two with a most wonderful and welcoming family. Given that this area is largely populated by Irish immigrants (deported by the English during the potato famine) and Acadians (deported by the English during the French and Indian War for control of Canada), I was touched that people were still so friendly towards me!

Some of you may remember my adventures with goat-milking earlier in my journey, but in Pokeshaw, I got to try my hand with cows! I had sort of assumed that dairy cows would probably be kinda just like big dairy goats, but nothing could have been further from the truth! (Actually, that’s not true, of course: a lot of assumptions could have been further from the truth… Dairy cows are like chickens, dairy cows are like broccoli… but I think you get my point? ;-)) The milking parlour could hold a dozen cows at a time, and I was definitely slightly nervous being that close to that many rear ends, but all went well (thanks to the farmer very chivalrously standing between me and one ‘little accident’) and once again I was filled with a renewed and more informed admiration for the people who produce the food we all take so much for granted here in the developed world.

And so then it was on to Miramichi, where I got to partake of the products of all that labour, as my host there just happened to be the owner of Brown’s Take-out, an establishment that just happens to do the most fabulous milkshakes! 🙂

My host’s son (and MLA for Nepisiguit, the rural area surrounding Bathurst) very kindly took me on a tour of some of the features of his area, including the Bathurst marina…

… and the Pabineau Falls. Apparently, these can’t be advertised at all, due to liability problems (there not being any safety barriers or anything), so you only really find them if someone local takes you. Given that fact, they were remarkably busy – I was lucky to get this one shot without anyone in the way!

As well as the red and white maple leaf Canadian flag, each province of Canada also has its own flag. Acadia is not an official province of Canada, but you’d never guess it when travelling through the area: the Acadian flag is everywhere!

The ride down to Miramichi might have been a bit grey and drizzly, but it gave me the privilege of eating my lunch on the shores of the Tabusintac Lagoon, a Ramsar wetland of international importance – and much beauty 🙂

Responses

  1. Ce sont là de belles photos, bonne chance pour la suite des choses, en espérant que votre périple dans les Maritimes se déroule à merveille!

    Pascal et Julie, Amqui


Leave a Reply

Categories

