Posted by: Silver | July 16, 2012

Miramichi to Sackville

Miramichi to Saint Louis:
Distance: 60 km
Ascent: 274 m
Cycling time: 3 hours

Saint Louis to Rexton:
Distance: 24 km
Ascent: 92 m
Cycling time: 1 hour, 20 minutes

Rexton to Moncton:
Distance: 82 km
Ascent: 516 m
Cycling time: 5 hours, 5 minutes

Moncton to Sackville:
Distance: 48 km
Ascent: 570 m
Cycling time: 3 hours, 20 minutes

I hesitate to mention this to all my British readers who, I understand, are drowning under one of the wettest summers ever, but I’ve had some gloriously sunny rides just recently! For the ride to Saint Louis, I even had a strong tailwind as well: I genuinely couldn’t keep the stupid grin off my face as I virtually sailed down the (for once!) well-paved road from Miramichi :-).

Saint Louis, Rexton and Sackville were sadly all just one-night stops: really not long enough to get to know my lovely hosts and do their communities justice (or keep my blog up to date!), but it did mean that I could get the message out about SOS Children’s Villages to a larger number of people, including the ladies and gentlemen of the Rexton Bingo Club. Bingo is clearly a very serious affair here, and I was warned not to talk for too long, lest I incur the wrath of the players for keeping them from their game. Fortunately, I’m very used to giving a ‘potted’ summary of SOS these days – given the number of people who stop to talk to me while I’m on the road, I’d never get in before dark if I hadn’t learned to get the message home in under three minutes! My appeal may have been brief, but the kind people of the tiny village of Rexton, along with the local Lions Club, nevertheless donated a very welcome $300 between them: thank you all! In fact, this kind sum, along with some very generous donations from several of my most recent hosts, has taken the total of the donations I know about to more than $34,000 :-).

And while we’re talking about numbers, I have now officially cycled more than 17,000km as well!

Saint Louis is right on the doorstep of Kouchibouguac National Park, and thanks to my hosts there, I was able to revel in the beauty of one of its sunsets, despite the brevity of my stop 🙂

The Rotary Club of Bouctouche never answered my email appeals for a place to stay, but they did provide me with a very nice park to have my lunch in as I cycled through the town on my way to Rexton

It feels like it’s been a while, but we’re definitely back in ‘World’s Largest…’ territory again: this was the ‘World’s Largest Lobster’, in Shediac, just outside Moncton!

I’m getting pretty good at spotting when Google maps is trying to send me down dirt roads, but even now, I sometimes get caught out: the ride to Sackville was particularly arduous as a result, but the unhelpful little detour did mean that I got to discover this delightfully random little cemetery tucked away in the unpaved hinterland, seemingly miles from anywhere or anyone…

And for those of you who are interested, the new header picture shows the Gaspé peninsula mountains, as seen from northern New Brunswick…

Responses

  1. Hello, Silver! thinking of you, and sending you warm wishes from just one of your many friends…. love, Layla

  2. HI Silver..Glad that things are going your way with the wind in your back..lol..I so glad I had the chance to host you . Take care my friend and keep in contact..Colleen


Leave a Reply

Categories

