Posted by: Silver | July 22, 2012

Sackville to Wolfville

Sackville to Amherst:
Distance: 26 km
Ascent: 156 m
Cycling time: 1 hour, 40 minutes

Amherst to Oxford:
Distance: 42 km
Ascent: 382 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 30 minutes

Oxford to Truro:
Distance: 95 km
Ascent: 774 m
Cycling time: 5 hours, 50 minutes

Truro to Wolfville:
Distance: 135 km
Ascent: don’t know, my cycle computer had a funny five minutes and didn’t record it!
Cycling time: 7 hours, 55 minutes

After meandering my way through Quebec for a good two months, it took me only two weeks to get from one end of New Brunswick to the other: things are certainly on a much more ‘British’ scale in the Maritime provinces. My entry into Nova Scotia wasn’t altogether the happiest, however: somebody stole my tail light.

After being on the road for more than two years, this is the first time that anything’s ever gone missing, so I guess I’m really not doing too badly overall, but suffice it to say that I was not a happy bunny when I noticed the empty mount upon my arrival in Amherst. Fortunately, however, everyone in Nova Scotia, other than the thief, continued to be every bit as wonderfully kind and generous as Canadians everywhere else have been, and by the time I reached Truro, I had received multiple offers to replace the stolen element of my safety system. Sadly, it would appear that the bike lights available in Nova Scotia are somewhat less bright than the eye-catching little number I used to have, but at least I had something to announce my presence when the torrential rain between Truro and Wolfville reduced visibility to not much more than zero. (Yeah, I really should know better than to brag about what lovely sunny rides I’ve been having, eh?!)

In that curious way that things so often seem to go, though, having my light stolen did produce a useful side effect: it was only because I was having to remove the old mount that I noticed one of the bolts on my luggage rack had sheared off. 50 lb of luggage bouncing up and down over 17,500 km of quality Canadian potholes had obviously just been too much for it, so now that whole strain was being taken by just one bolt instead of two. Fortunately, however (for the second time this entry!), I made that discovery just before arriving in Truro to be hosted by the owners of the local bike shop there, so an emergency repair was quickly effected.

And they do always say things come in threes: at the same time, I noticed that one of the straps on my saddlebags was now barely hanging on by a thread as well! But in a continuing display of good fortune, that discovery was made in the home of a host who just happened to have decided against the idea of worrying about tidying her sewing machine away before I arrived…

It doesn’t take long to notice that Nova Scotia has a bit of a thing about lighthouses…

It’s so pretty round here, even the dead get a lovely view! I was lucky enough to share that view when I stopped for lunch in Wentworth on my way to Truro

I happened to be crossing the Shubenacadie river just before the tide came in. The Shubenacadie is one of the rivers affected by the Bay of Fundy tides – the highest in the world – so I stayed to watch the tidal bore, but at this time of year, with the water level in the river so low, sadly it really was a bit of a bore…

My very kind Wolfville host took me to see the Tangled Garden in Grand Pré: five beautiful acres of landscaped gardens, and a gift shop selling the most delicious fruit jams with fresh herbs in (strawberry and tarragon was just one of their many offerings!) The most startling discovery of the day, though, was this incredible-looking dragonfly!

Leave a Reply

Categories

