Posted by: Silver | August 6, 2012

Laconia to Dartmouth

Laconia (outside Bridgewater) to Blue Rocks (outside Lunenburg):
Distance: 53 km
Ascent: 322 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 55 minutes

Blue Rocks to Dartmouth:
Distance: 113 km
Ascent: 1061 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 15 minutes

Summer is a tricky time for a journey like this: the entire country, it seems, packs its bags and heads off on vacation. This not only makes it harder to find hosts, and indeed, harder even to make contact with anyone to talk to about finding hosts, but more importantly, it also makes it more difficult to arrange speaking engagements at which I can enthuse madly about SOS Children’s Villages. With a little careful scheduling and a little kind help from some people who fortunately weren’t on holiday, however, I’ve still been managing to get the word out, with well-received presentations in both Lunenburg and Sackville (next door to Dartmouth) since my last update. I’ve been continuing to maintain my almost perfect record of getting press coverage for SOS in at least one media outlet in each community I’ve stopped at as well, although apparently CBC radio in Halifax originally decided to tell the world that my journey was actually ending in Halifax! Unlike most of the other amusingly glaring factual inaccuracies that have appeared in print about this journey over the last two years, though, CBC did at least correct the story on their website, so we’ll not allow the momentary lapse to tarnish their trustworthy reputation too much… 😉

Of course, as I mentioned in my entry yesterday, there’s actually still a fair way to go: at least another 1,500 km before I reach the point where Canada really does end, in Newfoundland, then all the way back to Ottawa. Bit of a long way to go for a party, perhaps, but hopefully it’ll be worth it! 😉

Several of my hosts in Nova Scotia had mentioned how pretty Mahone Bay was, so I was very grateful to my Laconia host for taking me on an excursion there in glorious sunshine (by the time I cycled the same route on my way to Dartmouth, it was raining….)

It’s another case of ‘the photos really don’t do it justice’, but the ride out to Blue Rocks really was gorgeous!

The roof inside the Anglican church in Lunenburg is painted with the constellations as they would have been seen from church’s location on the supposed night of Jesus’ birth: a fairly impressive feat of mathematical calculation for the pre-computer age, I reckon!

As I mentioned, the ride to Dartmouth was decidedly soggy, but even so, it managed to be not ‘alf pretty at times 🙂 This shot was taken from under a very gratefully discovered picnic shelter!

Leave a Reply

Categories

