Posted by: Silver | August 11, 2012

Dartmouth to Antigonish

Dartmouth to Lantz:
Distance: 40 km
Ascent: 271 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 15 minutes

Lantz to Truro:
Distance: 50 km
Ascent: 295 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 40 minutes

Truro to Antigonish:
Distance: 125 km
Ascent: 1103 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 25 minutes

If any of you are thinking that one of those place names looks remarkably familiar, you’d be right: this was my second visit to Truro, as any other route back up Nova Scotia would have meant missing several other decent-sized communities as well. Since my previous hosts were manically busy with their summer season though, on this occasion I was welcomed by the delightful owners of the Belgravia B&B and their family, who provided me with a luxurious place to sleep free of charge, and by members of the local Lions Club, who treated me to a Lion-sized supper! I felt very lucky to have had this second chance to get to know some more of the residents of Truro, and I even got some more publicity for SOS Children’s Villages out of it as well, with both the local radio station and the monthly newspaper covering my return. 🙂

And as a random little aside: a curious phenomenon has come to my attention over the last week or so – I’ve quite definitely been pedalling harder since the Olympics began! Of course, the Games are prime territory for making all of us mere mortals feel like we really ought to be trying a bit harder, but then I thought about it a bit more… OK, so those slick little cycle racers were managing 70km/hr, but they weren’t having to do it for over seven hours – nor were they having to do it with 50lb of luggage on their rear wheel…

Yeah, actually, now you mention it, I reckon I could give ‘em a run for their money after all… 😉

Whimsical exterior decorations do seem to be something of a feature of Canadian houses, but this one definitely had all the air of being wrapped up as a present for someone!

My wonderfully comfortable room at the Belgravia B&B in Truro

Ranger waiting patiently while I ate my lunch on the way to Antigonish

Once again, the generalization that Canada’s two languages are English and French proved to be far too simplistic… they don’t call it ‘New Scotland’ for nothing!

Responses

  1. Tana,

    Thanks for coming to Guysborough.

    May the road rise up to meet you,
    May the wind always be at your back……

    Lloyd

    • It was my pleasure, Lloyd! Thank you for your welcome, and especially for your decision to make a donation to SOS Children’s Villages – your support really will make a huge difference to a child somewhere in the world 🙂 I’ll tell the SOS office to look out for it so we can thank you appropriately!

  2. Definitely a gold medal for you!
    I can’t believe how long you’ve kept going, and all the places you’ve been, for SOS. You’re no more a “mere mortal” than Usain Bolt, or any of them.
    Love, John.


Leave a Reply

Categories

