Posted by: Silver | September 12, 2012

Glovertown to St John’s

Glovertown to Clarenville:
Distance: 97 km
Ascent: 1144 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 25 minutes

Clarenville to Arnold’s Cove:
Distance: 61 km
Ascent: 648 m
Cycling time: 3 hours, 50 minutes

Arnold’s Cove to Norman’s Cove:
Distance: 54 km
Ascent: 701 m
Cycling time: 3 hours, 40 minutes

Norman’s Cove to Victoria:
Distance: 98 km
Ascent: 1164 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 30 minutes

Victoria to Harbour Grace:
Distance: 18 km
Ascent: 293 m
Cycling time: 1 hour, 15 minutes

Harbour Grace to Conception Bay South:
Distance: 77 km
Ascent: 918 m
Cycling time: 5 hours, 5 minutes

Conception Bay South to St John’s:
Distance: 19 km
Ascent: 276 m
Cycling time: 1 hour, 20 minutes

Six consecutive days of cycling through the hilliest part of Newfoundland (or at least, the hilliest part that I was going to be going through…), six consecutive days of packing, unpacking, visiting with new hosts, talking to newspapers, and trying to keep everything organized despite having no cell phone reception and occasionally difficult internet access. Six consecutive days of non-stop exertion when I was already about two months overdue for a rest day: I was honestly rather glad that hurricane Leslie kept me in St John’s for an extra day, and took out the power so that there really wasn’t anything else I could do except rest!

Yes, I have now witnessed my first hurricane… or rather, my first ‘hurricane-strength, post-tropical storm’ to be exact. It wasn’t one of the most damaging ones that Newfoundland has ever seen – in fact, the storm I watched in Lloydminster back in July of last year was actually more impressive-looking in its violence – but I was certainly glad that my schedule, and my very kind hosts in St John’s, both had sufficient flexibility to allow me stay inside and watch through the window as the storm passed by! Once again, HGVs were being blown off the road, so I doubt Ranger and I would have stood much of a chance. 😦

One thing that did surprise me, though, was the bright blue skies! The winds may have gusted at more than 130km/h, but St John’s, at least, had almost no rain at all. There was a tiny part of me that was almost tempted to take Ranger out on a quiet back street, just for the experience of moving backwards whilst pedalling forwards… but somehow, I found that this was a temptation that I could manage to resist… 😉

My route between Glovertown and Clarenville took me through another National Park: Terra Nova this time. Many magnificent views and majestic hills, but I was actually most struck by the abundance and variety of mosses and lichens to be seen: no, that’s not snow under the trees…!

There’s been a noticeable change in the air just since my last post: the autumnal nip is definitely upon us. The season is coming to an end, and it’s obviously been a bit of a hard one for this butterfly in Clarenville

After admiring the view of Spreadeagle from Dildo…

… it was on to Shag Rock! No, honestly: look it up on the map if you don’t believe me! My ride to Victoria was nothing if not ‘interesting’…

Thanks to the fact that St John’s is located on a narrow peninsula, I was able to watch both the sunset, on Conception Bay beach…

… and the sunrise, at Cape Spear, the most easterly point in North America! But as you know, this isn’t the end of my journey: I’ve still got more than two months to go!

Responses

  1. one of the funnier posts of yer trip!!! only place you missed was Innuendo ..have enjoyed yer travels since just before ya bombed saltspring is.

  2. the world needs more Silver….
    thinking of you!
    love, blessings and travelling mercies
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

