Posted by: Silver | September 23, 2012

Inverness to New Glasgow

Inverness to Mulgrave:
Distance: 91 km
Ascent: 852 m
Cycling time: 5 hours, 35 minutes

Mulgrave to New Glasgow:
Distance: 119 km
Ascent: 1255 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 40 minutes

By all accounts, this has been an exceptional summer. I don’t think there was a single person in the whole of Newfoundland who didn’t mention to me just how wonderfully and unusually sunny it’s been, and the same has been true throughout the Maritimes. I, of course, am not complaining! I appreciate that it has given me a thoroughly unrealistic impression of what this season is normally like around here, but I’m certainly thanking my lucky stars for every single sunny, bug-free ride I’ve had! (Apparently, according to one of my hosts (who works in environmental health), hot, dry summers might be great for keeping the numbers of mosquitoes down, but they do also tend to lead to swarms of house flies instead. This is slightly depressing for anyone dreaming of a bug-free summer, but since house flies don’t seem to congregate in the bushes that I periodically have to frequent during long days of cycling, and aren’t in the habit of biting through my cycling clothes as if I were naked, I’m happy to have flies… ;-))

That being said, though, fall has begun (Happy belated Equinox everyone!) and although my two most recent rides were still mainly sunny and warm and pleasant, they were windy. In the case of the ride to New Glasgow, very windy, and for most of the almost 120 km journey, in my face too – to the extent that I was actually having to ride with my face turned to the side, watching where I was going out of the corner of my eye, since even with my super-duper cycling glasses in place, the wind was strong enough to make my eyes water if I looked straight into it. On the bright side, however, for the one big downhill of the day, the wind was actually at my back, which helped me nudge my personal speed record just another fraction higher: it now stands at 75.6 km/h! 😉

More than a month after coming across the causeway onto Cape Breton island, the mainland of Nova Scotia finally came back into view again

The Cabot Trail may be the ‘famous’ place to see the fall colours in Nova Scotia, but I bet this stretch of the Trans-Canada highway outside Antigonish looks every bit as spectacular… if you’re not there just a couple of weeks too early… 😦

It rained almost the entire time I was in New Glasgow, but fortunately, it stopped just long enough for me to be able to enjoy a very pleasant walk with my host along the beach in front of her house 🙂

Responses

  1. Hi Tana! I can’t believe you can ride your tri at such a speed. You’re amazing! Although I didn’t comment, I’ve been following you. I am now driving around in the Southwest USA with my Westfalia van and that since August 22nd. I’ll be at it for another month or so.

    Take care my friend.

    JC From Bonaventure

  2. Hi Silver – greetings from the sunny Okanagan! We’re having a great Sept as well. We are SO IMPRESSED by you, your determination, your amazing spirit. Let us know when you publish your book so we can buy a copy & brag that you stayed at our home one night ‘way back when’.
    You go girl!


Leave a Reply

Categories

