Posted by: Silver | September 27, 2012

New Glasgow to Montague

New Glasgow to Pictou:
Distance: 30 km
Ascent: 248 m
Cycling time: 1 hour, 45 minutes

Pictou to Montague:
Cycling distance: 39 km
Ascent: 323 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 15 minutes

A couple of baby rides this time, that brought me to my final new province – Prince Edward Island! With several presentations to Rotary clubs about SOS Children’s Villages, several more media interviews, and an energy level that’s seriously starting to look like that of someone who’s been on the road for more than two years, though, I was quite happy to be in an area of reasonably closely-spaced communities for a while!

There are two ways to get onto Prince Edward Island (unless you count flying or being born there, of course…): by ferry to the eastern end of the island, or over the Confederation bridge to the west end. In neither case is there a charge for getting onto the island… you only have to pay to get off PEI! I didn’t actually know this when I was planning my route, nor did I know that the bridge toll is less than half the ferry fare, but I was certainly very happy when I found out! So I made full use of my hour-and-a-quarter free ferry ride – and fell asleep! (Or at least, did my best to: the seats on the PEI ferry are even less conducive to restfulness than those on the Newfoundland ferry, but hey – adapting to, and making the most of, whatever circumstances I find myself in is far from an uncommon occupation on this journey!)

My first stop on the island introduced me to the first funeral directors I’ve stayed with: another fascinating insight into a world that I suspect most of us generally prefer not to think about. A lot of the roads on the island have no shoulder, but the traffic seems quite quiet now that the tourist season is pretty much over, so hopefully I won’t be requiring their professional services any time soon…!

One of Pictou’s unofficial attractions is the huge number of cormorants who have taken up residence on and around the old bridge pilings next to the causeway. There are ‘no stopping’ signs approximately every 2ft (or so it seemed!) along the causeway, to discourage people from blocking the traffic while they take photos, but I reckoned I wouldn’t get in the way too much… 😉

Thanks to my host in Pictou, I enjoyed a fascinating visit to the replica of the ship Hector, which brought the first wave of Scottish immigrants to this part of Nova Scotia. Rather made my journey look like a walk in the park, and certainly made me very, very grateful for web cameras and email!

Another point of interest in Pictou that I’m sure I wouldn’t have noticed without my ‘local guide’ was the only building in the whole world (apparently) with a window in its chimney!

Leave a Reply

Categories

