Posted by: Silver | October 4, 2012

Montague to Alberton

Montague to Souris:
Distance: 49 km
Ascent: 329 m
Cycling time: 3 hours

Souris to Charlottetown:
Distance: 94 km
Ascent: 526 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 50 minutes

Charlottetown to O’Leary:
Distance: 117 km
Ascent: 923 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 45 minutes

O’Leary to Alberton:
Distance: 14 km
Ascent: 72 m
Cycling time: 55 minutes

Another milestone reached! As I cycled to Charlottetown, I cycled my (drum roll please)…. 20,000th kilometre! Yes, if I’d been going in a straight line at the equator, then by now, I’d be more than half way around the world!!

And rather wet.

Fortunately, however, I’ve actually managed to stay miraculously dry since my last posting, despite several fairly spectacular downpours which all very considerately happened while I wasn’t on the road. 🙂 They did, however, make the Confederation trail rather heavy going… 😦

The Confederation Trail is another former railway line that’s been turned into a multi-use recreation trail: it runs right across the island, with branch lines out to most of the larger towns (of which there admittedly aren’t that many on Prince Edward Island!), but sadly, it isn’t paved. In fact, in some places, the surface was really pretty poor indeed. I stuck with it for a fair chunk of my journey to Charlottetown, just because it was so pretty – and so wonderfully relaxing to be away from all the traffic – but in the end, I had to give up in favour of actually getting where I was going before bedtime… 😦 I had planned to take the trail to all my destinations on the island, but after Charlottetown, I rerouted onto Highway 2: full of traffic, but fortunately equipped with a nicely paved, rumble-strip-free shoulder. 🙂 And it’s just as well I did, or I might still have been out there now! As you can possibly tell from the length of time it took me to cycle to O’Leary, I wasn’t moving very fast anyway, on account of some very unhelpful headwinds; if I’d been having to battle with the cycling-through-treacle-ness of the Confederation Trail as well, it would have been a very long day indeed…!

And another benefit of being on the number 2 was that it made it very easy for CBC to find me! Yes! Finally! My first real interview on CBC TV! They even asked me to do the intro to the show (they apparently get a ‘civilian’ to do the “You’re watching Compass on CBC” bit most evenings), so I was able to get a mention in for SOS Children’s Villages right at the top of the main evening news programme: Yay for SOS! 🙂

Unless you’re genuinely colour-blind, it really would be quite hard not to notice that PEI has a bit of a thing about red; whether it’s the rocks…

… or the blueberry fields…

… or the evening sky, red is everywhere here!

In fact, about the only place where there hasn’t been much red yet, is on the trees! PEI apparently has a fall colour season just as lovely as Cape Breton, but the exceptional summer we’ve been having doesn’t seem to want to end! (btw, this is a shot of the not-very-trike-friendly Confederation Trail, outside Souris)

Responses

  1. Hey Silver you truly are amazing….Congrats on the 20,000 Km..Fantastic..Sure wish I could be at the big party with you and everyone else…….So Honoured I played a wee part in your journey..! Very WEE….:) With LOVE, Graham….<3 ❤ ❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

