Posted by: Silver | October 24, 2012

Saint Stephen to Edmundston

Saint Stephen to Waasis:
Distance: 137 km
Ascent: 1255 m
Cycling time: 8 hours, 10 minutes

Waasis to Fredericton:
Distance: 25 km
Ascent: 207 m
Cycling time: 1 hour, 40 minutes

Fredericton to Woodstock:
Distance: 98 km
Ascent: 709 m
Cycling time: 5 hours, 25 minutes

Woodstock to Perth-Andover:
Distance: 104 km
Ascent: 868 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 25 minutes

Perth-Andover to Grand Falls:
Distance: 43 km
Ascent: 454 m
Cycling time: 2 hours, 30 minutes

Grand Falls to Edmundston:
Distance: 67 km
Ascent: 457 m
Cycling time: 5 hours

Oh dear! Things just aren’t slowing down, are they?! It’s been so long since I last had the chance to catch up, I don’t even know where to start now! I have so many people to thank for so many things – maintenance for Ranger, treats for me, donations for SOS Children’s Villages, and more – that for fear of inadvertently missing someone out, I’m afraid I’m going to go for the cop-out option of simply saying, “You know who you are, and I’m INCREDIBLY grateful to you all!!”

I’ve now cycled over 21,000km, and Ranger finally has his first new tyre! The Schwalbe Marathon Plus tyres that he’s been sporting ever since Whitehorse have kept me puncture-free for over two years now, so needless to say, I replaced the finally-nearly-bald rear tyre with another Marathon Plus! I am definitely a happy Schwalbe customer! I am also now on my third chain and gear cassette: 10,000km seems to be the best one can get out of those… which is still pretty good, I reckon!

The winds are definitely getting autumnal (ie stronger!) now, and of course, Murphy’s law states that they’ll always be going in the opposite direction to me, but overall, I’m still doing pretty well weather-wise, I think. From now until November 15th, though, I will simply count every dry day above freezing as an additional blessing on this journey…!

I didn’t see any wildlife that I was able to photograph for ages, but just recently, there suddenly seem to have been a lot more opportunities…

We were a bit concerned by this little fellow’s lack of quills, and his complete lack of interest in running away from us, but he did seem to be eating very healthily – just a few feet away from me!

This feisty chap obviously didn’t realize I had his best interests at heart when I tried to nudge him off the tarmac, and he put up a very impressive show of baring his fangs at me… despite his head being no bigger than my little finger nail…!

It’s amazing what you sometimes find when you pop into the bushes for a quick ‘comfort break’…!

Leave a Reply

Categories

