Posted by: Silver | October 30, 2012

Edmundston to Saint-Pascal

Edmundston to Rivière du Loup:
Distance: 121 km
Ascent: 784 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 45 minutes

Rivière du Loup to Saint-Pascal:
Distance: 53 km
Ascent: 261 m
Cycling time: 3 hours, 5 minutes

The countdown to the end of the journey has definitely begun now! I’m back in Quebec again, the last province I will travel through before the ‘grande finale’ in Ottawa, and it’s now just a race to see who will get there first: me or winter! I’ve already had my first morning with frozen gear cables: when I left Edmundston, it was -6ºC, and I didn’t regain use of my chainwheel until almost 10.30! Overall though, I’m still being very lucky on the weather front, and I even had a bit of a tailwind on the way to Saint-Pascal! 🙂 I’m guessing that the St Lawrence must have a moderating effect on the climate, as I was still able to enjoy a fair bit of autumn colour as I travelled along the river – in contrast to northern New Brunswick, where almost everything was virtually bare already.

I can’t deny that, after almost 2½ years on the road, I’m certainly starting to get ‘quite tired’ now (typical British understatement there – I’m clearly still not fully assimilated into the North American mindset… ;-)), and the sudden return to francophonie is giving me some extra mental exercise as well, but I’ve been very happy (and relieved!) to notice that I still wave my arms around and jump up and down as much as ever when someone offers me the opportunity to talk about SOS Children’s Villages. 🙂 It was the children who gave me the motivation to do this journey, and they are still motivating me now: if you still haven’t checked out SOS’s website, do it now, and see why I’m still so excited about the difference this amazing organization is making in children’s lives!

There were still a few leaves left in Edmundston, and they set off these statues outside city hall quite beautifully

Part of my route from Edmundston to Rivière du Loup took me on the bike trail alongside Lake Temiscouata. I could actually have followed the trail pretty much all the way, but as it wasn’t paved, it would unfortunately have been well after dark by the time I finally got to my destination – the trails are beautiful, but they’re definitely not the fastest way to travel!

Not just the autumn leaves, but even the odd flower was hanging on along the shores of the St Lawrence!

In Saint-Pascal, my hosts took me along the Sept Chutes (seven waterfalls) trail: this was the only waterfall it was possible to see up-close, but the whole trail was very pretty, and certainly made an interesting change from cycling!

Responses

  1. Wow! I am so very impressed with your stamina Silver. Hang in there! Almost there. We wish you a pleasant and warm (as possible) journey to your final destination in Ottawa. Although we can’t be there in person, we will be there in spirit to celebrate your journey’s end and the amazing recognition you have generated for SOS Children’s Villages. Keep on truckin’ (as “they” say – Truckers perhaps :~). Many blessings, Becky


Leave a Reply

Categories

