Posted by: Silver | November 6, 2012

Saint-Pascal to Sherbrooke

Saint-Pascal to Montmagny:
Distance: 98 km
Ascent: 411 m
Cycling time: 6 hours, 5 minutes

Montmagny to Sainte-Marie:
Distance: 121 km
Ascent: 760 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 40 minutes

Sainte-Marie to Thetford Mines:
Distance: 55 km
Ascent: 615 m
Cycling time: 3 hours, 55 minutes

Thetford Mines to Victoriaville:
Distance: 82 km
Ascent: 602 m
Cycling time: 5 hours, 55 minutes

Victoriaville to Sherbrooke:
Distance: 104 km
Ascent: 805 m
Cycling time: 7 hours, 15 minutes

October was shaping up to be the biggest cycling month of the entire journey, but thanks to hurricane Sandy (which didn’t actually make much of an impact on my little corner of Quebec in the end anyway…), my Halloween ride to Sainte-Marie ended up happening on November 1st instead. Nevertheless, at 1421 km, October was still only just in second place behind last June (1465 km), and with less favourable weather conditions to contend with as well, I offer that as my excuse for why you didn’t hear very much from me last month!

And things aren’t letting up in the final days either: in previous winters, I’ve tried to keep my rides somewhat shorter, in the hopes of reaching my destination before my toes freeze completely, but even though I’ve now had two snowy days on the road, and the temperature is generally hovering around freezing (and sometimes below!), I’m still clocking up the miles as you can see from the stats. Fortunately, I’ve reassuringly discovered that, despite neglecting every exercise other than cycling just recently, I’m still flexible enough to get my foot under a (hot-air!) hand dryer, and after so long on the road, I’m certainly brazen enough to no longer care what the staff of Tim Hortons think I’m doing in their washroom for so long…

And talking of the final days: it’s less than ten days until I get to Ottawa now, so this is a reminder that you are all cordially invited to join me for the celebrations, on Thursday November 15th!! I’m still waiting for confirmation of the timing of events in the morning, but I can confirm that there will be a reception at the Heart & Crown in Byward Market at 5pm. If you’d like to attend this, please let me know, as SOS need to know numbers by November 12th. Hope to see you all there!!!

This part of Quebec is on the migration path for the great flocks of snow geese that are very sensibly making their way south at the moment: this was my first glimpse of them, outside Montmagny…

… and then again, at rather closer quarters, in Victoriaville

… and yet again, as I failed to make it into Sherbrooke before dark!

Being back in Quebec also means being back in the land of lots of decent, paved, cycle paths – yippee! This was in Lévis, just across the river from Quebec City

With all the beautifully muted colours around at the moment, I just couldn’t resist playing with my soft focus… 😉 This is the Chaudière River, just outside Lévis

Leave a Reply

Categories

