Posted by: Silver | April 1, 2013

Greetings from the (even more) frozen north

Well, I was clearly enjoying the Canadian winter so much (see previous entry!), that I decided to make it last even longer… by moving to the Arctic!

I apologize for my prolonged silence, but it took a little bit longer than I would have liked to get the next stage of my life sorted out after the end of the cycling. However, today seemed like the perfect day to announce that, finally, my life is moving forward again, and I have a new job: working in a dental clinic in Iqaluit, the capital of Nunavut. 🙂

As with any new job, it’s all a bit hectic at the moment, but I promise I will try to write some more soon…!

Responses

  1. Nunavut ?? you are taking this frozen North Myth to the extreme !! Congrats on your move…:) Hugs

  2. Congratulations Tana – glad you have landed in an interesting place – just in time for the eventual spring festival and the Rotary golf tournament on the ice. And in a place where my brother and sister in law have a business (employ my other brother there too) and live, when not in Ottawa area or elsewhere 🙂 Small world.
    All the best from Maria and Bill Kulcher in St. Stephen NB

  3. What a coincidence, my daughter and I were the first private aircraft to fly into Iqaluit in 1999. We set some world speed records in my homebuilt airplane. There’s a short video on vimeo.

  4. How exciting! Congratulations Silver. I can’t wait to hear more about it. We wish you all the best in your new home.

  5. How very exciting. I am also wondering about your family back home…

    • Hello, Nigel,
      This is a response from Silver’s mother. I think her journey is fantastic:-)
      I enjoyed my visit to Canada at the end of her cycling marathon and the journey we had together -by train! across Canada. I am now looking forward to visiting Iqaluit eventually.

      Alison

      • Hello Alison
        I’m glad to hear you are so positive. I just know in our own family’s case there would be gladness at the prospects for the offspring, but sadness at the parting.
        Nigel

  6. It has been great reading about your adventures, good luck in your new job 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

