Posted by: Silver | January 1, 2014

ᕿᑲᖕᓇᒥ ᖁᕕᐊᓱᒋᑦᓯ!

Qikangnami quviasugitsi everyone! *

Yes, I know, it’s been an amazingly long time since I last updated this blog, but with a new calendar year beginning, I thought it was an opportune moment to bring you all up to date.

As you can probably guess from the greeting, and the new header picture, I am still in the Arctic, but I’m no longer working at the dental clinic: after less than two months of relentless bullying there, I’d more than had enough. So now I am employed as the front desk supervisor at the main hotel in Iqaluit, the Frobisher Inn!

Having returned to an ‘ordinary’ working life, there didn’t seem to be much worth talking about here on the blog, but that’s not to say that it hasn’t been an interesting year. I have grown vegetables above the tree line with the Iqaluit Community Greenhouse Society, danced zumba on the sea ice at -20ºC, watched a beautiful sunset at 1.30 in the afternoon, and – as you can see above – learned a tiny bit of Inuktitut (although, sadly, still not enough to be able to hold a conversation…).

Last night was possibly the highlight of my time here so far, though: having originally planned a quiet (and early) night, on account of working the early shift on the front desk today, I actually ended up playing fast and furious silly games with what felt like half the entire Inuit population of Iqaluit, round-dancing my heart out with a teenage boy who thankfully knew the steps a lot better than I did, then completely unexpectedly finding myself riding pillion in the midnight snowmobile parade out onto the sea ice. Looking back at the twinkling lights of the town from the inky darkness of the bay, with New Year fireworks bursting forth from every direction, was truly a moment of pure Arctic magic. 🙂

* just in case you didn’t know already, that’s Inuktitut for “Happy Holidays”! By the way, if the title of this post looks like lots of little squares to you, it just means that your computer can’t display the Inuktitut syllabics version of this greeting…

This is part of Iqaluit's famous Road to Nowhere, which starts in town and goes... well... nowhere!

This is part of Iqaluit’s famous Road to Nowhere, which starts in town and goes… well… nowhere!

Yes, you do still get butterflies up here! It was nice to see something other than mosquitoes flying around...

Yes, you do still get butterflies up here! It was nice to see something other than mosquitoes flying around…

The Iqaluit Community Greenhouse in full swing at the end of July

The Iqaluit Community Greenhouse in full swing at the end of July

Brightly coloured houses are one of the many charming features of Iqaluit

Brightly coloured houses are one of the many charming features of Iqaluit

As you know, I don't like putting photos of myself on the blog, but I reckoned this one was probably pretty safe: this was me taking a walk on Frobisher Bay at -28ºC :-)

As you know, I don’t like putting photos of myself on the blog, but I reckoned this one was probably pretty safe: this was me taking a walk on Frobisher Bay at -28ºC 🙂

Responses

  1. Very Cool Silver…and just seeing the eyes I can sure tell who it is !! How does it feel wearing a sleeping bag to walk around in ?? You certainly are an adventurist…..Hugs and stay warm Kid ❤

  2. Wow! Great to hear from you. And in the Arctic to boot. Happy New Year from Manitoulin Island! I wish all the best for you in 2014 but I am very angry that you were bullied.
    Betty

  3.   Thank you for your interesting email – I spent two years in the Arctic, way way back before you were born – back in 1965 and 1966 as a weather man – I was up in Alert and Clyde River – Frobisher was considered “down south”.   Did spent a few days in Frobisher waiting for a plane – before anyone had ever thought of a hotel!   Enjoy your stay.   Jack Van Delden Sylvan Lake, Alberta (writing you from Corpus Christi in Texas – here for a few months to escape the snow).    

    ________________________________


Leave a Reply

Categories

